Skip to content
November 30, 2012 / Gillian

Emergency Sweater!

Not everyone has an Alice in their life, but they should.  I have an Alice in my life and it makes my life so much better because I always have someone to snark with.  It is, though, an unfortunate fact of my life that my Alice lives in bumblefrak Missouri.  Well, she lives near a major city, but to me all of Missouri is bumblefrak.   In any case, Missouri is far away from me and so I barely ever get to see her.  Seriously, I have physically seen her once in the last three years.  It blows.

I digress.

In any case, she called me and said “hey, if I order you yarn, can you make me a sweater?”  I say sure, because I don’t say no to my Alice.  She needs a cowl necked black sweater that is clingy but not necessarily fitted that covers her backside so that she can wear leggings with it to do a Mommy & Me dance at her daughter’s recital.  It’s rare that the exact sweater that you want exists in readily available form when it’s this specific.  Oh, and it shouldn’t be too heavy.  Can do!  I immediately thought – as you may know – of the Idlewood sweater, the pattern for which can be purchased on Ravelry.  I already have the pattern, so no purchase necessary.  In fact I made the sweater for me, but I’d like to make it over again in different yarn at some point.

For Alice’s sweater I’m using Knit Picks Comfy Worsted in Black, which just arrived at my house on Wednesday.   I’ve started it and I’m just to the shoulders now.

Oh crap sorry…I got totally distracted by the internet.  Where was I?  …shoulders.  Yes.  I’m on the shoulders and this sweater is all stockinette.  I should blow through it.  That’s the hope.  For now, I’m freshly showered and have comfy clothes on and I’m going to stick a podcast in my ears and go to town on it.

Onward!!

 

PS. I will update this post with a progress picture tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

