Skip to content
November 26, 2012 / Gillian

As Promised, The More!

So, last week’s post was extremely short.  Mostly the reason was Thanksgiving and also I was riding on a post-child-sweater-knitting high and just didn’t feel like talking about anything coherently.  I am still feeling triumphant about the sweater.  Look, he’s even wearing it around the house!

So cute!

Anyway, what else am I working on?  A moebius!  The Topsy Turvy Moebius to be exact.  Here’s where I’m at with that…

Looking good.  The yarn, in case you were wondering, is Abbey Sheep & Wool which I dyed with Jacquard Acid Dyes in Silver and Gunmetal.  I need to re-paint my fingernails.  Anyway, the moebius is for me and I’m feeling happily reinvigorated since Friday when my BFF told me she needed a sweater by December 8 and it didn’t exist yet and she wanted to send me yarn to make it so.

In the words of Barney Stinson: Challenge accepted!

She’s going to be doing a mommy and me dance at her daughters’ dance recital.  This is a dance school at which she is also a teacher, so she wants to look really nice.  What she wants is a clingy, plain, black sweater with a cowl neck.  It’s got to go past her backside so that it can be something she can wear leggings with.  My immediate answer to this was the Idlewood sweater.  Last year, actually at the exact time I was visiting said friend, I made myself an Idlewood.  It’s got two square pockets on the front.  For BFF’s sweater I’ll be leaving off the front pockets.  Personally, I decided that I’d like to do the sweater again for myself also and without the front pockets.  Alternatively, if I did do a front pocket I’d do one of those pockets that you put your hands in from either side…what is that called?  Kangaroo pocket.  I was right.  I just thought I might be wrong because that’s not how actual kangaroo pouches work.  Oh well.  Anyway, as I said for her there will be no pockets at all.  I still have to determine whether the sleeves stay short or we make them longer.

The yarn we ended up choosing was Knit Picks Comfy Worsted in Black.  I figured it’s breathable and washable so it should be perfect.  Besides that it’s pretty inexpensive.  Enough yarn for the whole sweater was less than thirty dollars, plus whatever she paid for shipping.

Having a deadline is giving my motivation new life.  Currently I need to finish this moebius, then the sweater, and of course I’ve still got the altar cloth…for which I need to order more yarn…  Knit Picks is having a big Cyber Monday sale today, so maybe if I’m a really lucky girl their Bare Stroll Superwash will be on sale…unlikely though.  Nope.  It’s not.

Alright, ladies and gents, it’s time for me to go.  I’ve got more knitting to do, and it’s time to exercise.  I’ve been letting my workouts go by the wayside lately and I’m feeling a little out of shape.  Off I go to workout while I listen to The Smartest Man in the World (The Greg Proops podcast!).

Have a great day and happy knitting!

 

Leave a Reply

