Skip to content
October 2, 2012 / Gillian

Knit Until You Drop

People are amazing.  We have a friend (and a co-worker of my husband’s) who has volunteered to watch our munchkin on Sunday…for free.  She’s going to come pick him up in the afternoon and then even bring him back so that we don’t have to pick him up, which is all really stunning because she lives about half an hour away from us.  For some people that’s not big driving time, but around here people tend to get weird if they have to drive more than fifteen minutes to get anywhere.  My thankfulness runneth over because otherwise I might not be able to go to the Blair Dems Fall Banquet which I am wildly excited about.

Of course you’ll recall that I made two scarves for the silent auction.  The scarves have already been handed off and I can’t wait to say ‘hi!’ to them at the banquet.  In any case, since I’m so full of gratitude I decided to make our lovely friend a surprise lapghan (that’s an afghan that’s made to go over your lap – for the uninitiated).  I’m doing the Hemlock Ring Blanket.  The pattern is an adaptation of an old doily pattern.  Here’s where we are so far…

I’m going with the same Dark Country Blue (Caron Simply Soft) that I used on the cabled scarf I made for the Dems.  I already had a little more than one skein laying around so I jumped on it immediately.  I plan to leave off here very shortly and continue madly knitting in an effort to be able to hand her the finished blanket on Sunday when she comes to pick up munchkin.   Ambitious?  Possibly.

Well, there it is.  I should get knitting because if I don’t I’ll never get done!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. anastasiamw / Oct 2 2012 5:31 pm

    I made this one a few months back! It’s a fun pattern to work on. I absolutely love the color you picked.

Leave a Reply

