Skip to content
October 1, 2012 / Gillian

The Next Color…

Before I move on to the post at large I want to say a word about my Four Cables Slouch.  (See…there’s a link…I hope.)  A couple people have expressed difficulty in downloading it or getting the link to work or whatever.  I don’t know why.  It’s a .pdf.  It’s in my WordPress media library.  I have tried every way I can think of and I can’t figure out why it’s not working for some people.  If you are one of those people then I sincerely apologize and would like to point you to my post entitled “Four Cables Slouch – The Blog Form!”  So hopefully that clears up the issue for most people and beyond that I can’t think what to do.

Okay.  Moving on.  I finished the color orange on my shawltar cloth!  That’s what I’m calling it.  It’s a shawl pattern that’s going to be an altar cloth…Shawltar cloth.  Go on, laugh derisively if you want, but I love a portmanteau.  I’ll show you a picture…

My orange turned out a little variagated, but I like it anyway.  Probably the green will be a little less than uniform as well.  Who knows, maybe they all will…except the red.  For some reason I make a really uniform red.  In any case, next I’ll be dyeing the yellow as soon as I stop being lazy about winding up half a skein.  I just keep thinking…I could just buy two more skeins of bare yarn and then just dye full skeins of the remaining colors and sure I’ll have extra but then I won’t have to worry about calculating and winding and re-winding.  It’s me being lazy.  Legitimately, though, I’m concerned about whether it’s going to be big enough.  In theory the completed radius of the thing is 27 inches, which means I’m looking at a 54″ diameter.  That should be fine….I think.  On Sunday I’ll be sure to measure the altar table to see what its front-to-back measurement is.  If I think it’s going to be too small I can always make it bigger.  No rushing though, this isn’t supposed to be finished until the end of November.

In the meantime, I need to think up some projects for October.  Speaking of October, I just remembered that I forgot to put up new missions rooms for my Battlestar Galactica Ravelry group.   Crap.  I shall add that to the list of things to do today.  At least this means that I have a little more time before I need to think up some more projects.  It is amazing, I feel like I have everything and nothing to do.

One thing I need to do is shower.  Today is my first day helping out in the computer lab at my munchkin’s school and I’d rather not be gross.

Happy Knitting!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. anastasiamw / Oct 2 2012 5:33 pm

    That’s just beautiful!

Leave a Reply

