Skip to content
September 24, 2012 / Gillian

A Rainbow of Awesome!

So I finally said screw it and let’s do this.  Wait…I’m derailing my own momentum for a minute to show you my scarves.

Blue scarf!  I fringed the crap out of it.  Some scarves just need fringe and I think cabled scarfs need fringe.  There are obviously exceptions.  It’s not a rule, but by and large, I really like cabled scarves with fringe.

Also, not to beat a dead horse, but here’s another picture of my red scarf…

It’s a little better.  I think this is probably the best I can possibly do to represent the color and the lace pattern.

Alright, cool.  I’m moving on.  Remember how I’m knitting Jared Flood’s Leaves of Grass as an altar cloth for my church?  (Reminder: Unitarian Universalist!  Yay!)  When I saw it I immediately wanted to do it in a rainbow and then I got sort of wishy-washy about how I was going to do it and dyeing out the yarn or should I buy the rainbow colors…blah blah.  I threw the idea out on my church’s Facebook page.  What I said was, this is what I’m doing and I thought maybe a rainbow but maybe a single color and if so what color.   The immediate reactions were all for rainbow and so I did not get the opportunity to wimp out of it, and so much the better.

Today I tossed the yarn over my computer chair and balled up what I think will be enough for the center circle.  It’s only 35 rounds, so I think it’ll be fine.  Then I had to take that ball and wind it back into something dyeable, hence…

…because sometimes when you don’t have money for cool toys you have to get creative.  Just to be clear, on the right that’s a roll of packing tape with the ball of yarn in it.  The yarn is being wound around a computer chair which spins so I’m using it as a makeshift swift.  It’s pretty awesome, I know.  So once it was re-skeined I moved down to the kitchen…

You’ve got to soak the yarn to open up the fibers.   I let the yarn soak for about a half hour to open up and then I mixed up the dye…

Muuuwa-ha-ha-ha!  I see the dye and I just immediately think “I want to suck your blood!”  Once the yarn soaks and I wring it out it’s time to dye.  Normally I would crockpot dye, but today it’s a smaller amount of yarn and it’s just one color so I’m microwave dyeing.  So here I go…

Yarn goes in a ziplock bag and in a microwave safe bowl and then you just want to zap it for 30 seconds at a time.  After each 30 second round let it hang out for two minutes.   I mean…you should…really.  I didn’t this time.  I maybe gave it one minute in between zaps.  Anyway so you zap and zap until the water starts losing its dye.  It’ll happen after a couple minutes.  Microwave dyeing is so fast.  From the beginning I knew I put too much dye in so I let mine go until it was just mostly clear…

This is the second to last run.  I gave it one last turn and then I just let it hang out and cool off for about an hour while I listened to an episode of the Nerdist podcast.

Oh, big giant sigh.  Now the wait.  I must wait for the yarn to dry before I can start knitting.  Maybe I’ll make a hat while I’m waiting.   Hopefully I’ll get to show you the finished first section and me dyeing the orange yarn before the end of the week, so look forward to hearing from me before the week is over!

Leave a Reply

