Skip to content
September 20, 2012 / Gillian

The Bleeding Scarf

You may know from my previous post that I’m working on scarves.  Currently I’m onto a lovely dark blue cabled scarf which is fantastic…

See, so nice.  And look, you can tell what color it is and everything.  On the other hand there is my, now finished, Thorny scarf.  It’s bloody red, both in the sense that it’s blood red and also as in the common swear word of English origin.  It is so red that I cannot for the life of me make my camera capture it properly.  Here are a few attempts…

No.

Hmm-mm.

Labored sigh.  The last one is probably the best so far.  I think it’s a combination of the quality of my camera and all the millions of things that I don’t know about taking pictures. I have a good eye, but I don’t know the technical things that would probably help me solve this problem.  So far I’ve figured out that less light is better for getting the color right but it’s less good for getting the picture to look crisp and it absolutely doesn’t capture how fantastic the scarf is in real life, which it is.

Really, I’m wildly jealous of whomever is going to actually own this scarf.  It’s one of the pieces that will be up for silent auction at the Blair Dems Fall Banquet.  (Do you live in Blair County, PA and want info on the Blair Dems Fall Banquet?  I’m happy to provide the info to interested parties.)  The blue scarf will also be available at the silent auction.  Will I also do a white scarf?  I’m not sure.  Possibly.  I feel to a certain extent like if I’ve done a red one and I’m doing a blue one then I’m sort of obligated to make a white one too.  I’m not.  That’s not expected of me.  Those are just the weird things I expect from myself.  I have this weird terror that I’ll be there and someone’s going to say “Hey, where’s the white scarf?  I mean the theme is red, white and blue.”  The odds that this will happen are low.  No one gives that big a crap about my knitting.

Hm.  Pandora is not giving me what I want today.  The music it’s giving me today is kind of depressing.  C’est la vie.

So there we are.  We’re making scarves.  Yarn has been ordered for the making of a Leaves of Grass circular shawl.  I’m still debating whether it should be rainbow colored or a single color and if a single color, which single color?  I don’t have a ton of time to ponder it.  The thing has to be started before the end of the month so we’re in tic-tic mode now.  I may even have the yarn in my hot little hands today, which really puts the pressure on.  Alright.  I’m going to go take a breath and think about it and stop Pandora from depressing the hell out of me.

 

Leave a Reply

