Skip to content
September 17, 2012 / Gillian

Scarftastic!

Before I begin, a quick update on my sock yarn blanket…

It grows!

 

So that’s a thing.  Right at this moment I’m working on scarves.  I have two…maybe three to do.  I’m almost done with this one…

Yes, it’s way more done than this.  No, it’s not fuchsia.  (I spelled fuchsia right on the first try!)  It’s red.  I need to get a better picture.  My camera hates red things, which is sad because red is probably my favorite color.  The scarf is actually a cowl pattern which is knitted flat and the grafted together.  I needed a scarf and I thought it would make an awesome one so I said “screw cowls!”  I started with three rows of garter stitch and I’ll end that way too.  The pattern is called “Thorny” if you’re interested in checking it out on Ravelry.  It’s one of two or three scarves that I’m making for the Blair County Democrats’ silent auction at their Fall Banquet (which I am actually attending this year…squee!).

The next scarf on my list will be something cabled.  I haven’t decided on a specific pattern yet.  The yarn will be Caron Simply Soft’s Dark Country Blue.  It’s almost navy blue.  Much to my thrill and excitement Michaels’ has Caron Simply Soft on sale for $2.49 a skein this week and Sunday they had a 20% off your entire purchase including sale items coupon.  Well, it was 15% if you got it in the paper, but if you happened to shop at Michael’s last week you would have gotten a 20% coupon at check out.  I did.  Huzzah for me!  So I got the three skeins of Simply Soft and this super cute pumpkin basket that I absolutely didn’t need which now graces my dining room table.  It’s going to be my autumn fruit bowl.

Also, I just saw this video on The Nerdist from Ben Folds Five and it’s got Fraggles!!!  If you need a smile then you need this video.

Anyway.  So that’s what’s going on and I’ll get back to you with a finished and hopefully more red picture of my lace scarf.

 

 

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Bonnie / Sep 17 2012 12:09 pm

    I saw the scarf and it’s beautiful! Nice to meet you and hope to see you at more wooly events!

    • DrPurloknitz / Sep 17 2012 12:14 pm

      Thanks! I hope to see you too!

Leave a Reply

