Skip to content
August 25, 2012 / Gillian

Blankets!

I’ve been really drawn to blankets lately.  I’m not sure why.  I’m a person that goes through phases.  Right now all I want it blankets.  The day before yesterday I finished my own OpArt Blanket.  Well, not my own.  It’s actually a gift for a friend’s new baby.  She wants Steelers themed things so I’m making her baby stuff in black at gold.  Here’s the blanket that I just finished…

I did it in acrylic yarn because it’s washable and because I can’t afford that much superwash wool.  This blanket was unbelievably simple.  It does require, as is mentioned in the pattern, very significant blocking to make it square.   You may notice, if you look closely, that even after some healthy tugging I didn’t manage to get it quite square.  It’s close enough though.

Ugh.  I’m being interrupted mid-posting by this itching need to respond to a post my Aunt made with a quote from a writer about how we’ve created a society where violence is the primary form of communication and then one of her friends responded, basically saying that you can probably point the blame it on violent video games and action movies.  And when I brought evidence to the contrary she basically said that she’s “biased” against clinical studies that use all kinds of technical jaron to “prove” (and those are her quotation marks not mine) what she knows that real parents have witnessed.  I can’t…how am I supposed to debate that?  You don’t believe it because you don’t feel that way?  I don’t…seriously?  I can’t have a debate with someone who says, “Gee, facts?  No thank you, that doesn’t fit how I feel.”

I’ll have to show you the progress on my sock yarn blanket later because now I’m just really annoyed.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Eric Vinyl / Sep 8 2012 5:12 am

    Welcome to American public discourse in the 21st century.

    • DrPurloknitz / Sep 8 2012 7:29 am

      Indeed…unfortunately.

Leave a Reply

