Skip to content
August 12, 2012 / Gillian

Sock It to Me!

So I went to the last day of my volunteer gig yesterday.  It was the end-of-summer festival bit.  I brought along my picnic blanket which, as promised, I photographed outside…

I should have photographed it with someone on it for scale and incidentally it’s actually more like 5′ in diameter, but there you have it.  I had the most fantastic time.  I handed out knitting needles and  yarn to some of my tiny fanatic knitting followers.  It’s beyond cool to me that little kids were interested in knitting, and seeing 7, 8, and 9 year-old girls (yeah, I didn’t get any boys to stick with it) knitting on their own was so awesome.  I felt like a knitting rock star.  The experience was so cool that I’m seriously considering talking to someone at my local library about doing a kids knitting group.  I’m thinking maybe Saturday afternoons.  I feel like I really have the teaching method down now, so I think it would be fun.  Plus, knitting is such a great way to practice patience and calm.  I have said many times and will repeat many times more, knitting is my zen place.  There is no relaxation for me like the relaxation of knitting.

Yesterday I mentioned that I was trying to find another project to finish before the closing ceremonies of the Olympics, tonight.  I didn’t find anything.  I said screw it.  Finally, I have decided to start a sock yarn blanket, for really real and I’ve found a pattern that I think I’m going to really finish…

…it’s cool, right?  Yes.  Yes, it is.  The pattern is actually for worsted weight yarn, but it’s absolutely adaptable to whatever size yarn and needle you like.  In this instance I’m using sock yarn and size five needles.  The best part is my new couch-side organizational system.

Last week Target had these drawer sets on sale for ten dollars.  Cha-ching!  Previously I had been using a medium sized plastic storage box as a  table/place to stick shit.  Actually, it was full of yarn that I never looked at because taking all the stuff off the top to get into the box was a pain.  And then I had to leave all my tools and whatnots in my knitting bag next to the couch, which inevitably got messy.  Now I have the perfect table which need never be cluttered because I’ve got three whole drawers to shove my crap in.  Yay!  There’s even space for my portable dvd player (for use during cartoon-time) so I can stop being lazy and leaving it on the back of the couch where I inevitably sit on the cord and it comes crashing down on my shoulder or some other unfortunate body part.

Where was I going with this?  Oh yeah, right, sock yarn blanket.  So anyway, the bottom drawer is now filled with all my odds and ends of sock yarn and when I’m not knitting it, the blanket itself.  Amazing!  Damnit, I love organizing things!

So here I am, feeling good, feeling organized.  I do, however, know that Christmas present-making-time is soon upon me so I need to start thinking about that.  Anyway, I’ll ignore that for this second and enjoy the high of getting shit done.  Huzzah!

Leave a Reply

