Skip to content
August 10, 2012 / Gillian

The Most Giant Wash Cloth…IN THE WORLD!

I finished what may be my only completed project for the 2012 Ravellenic Games today.  I did the Stephen West ‘Old Forge’ afghan.  Instead of a snuggly wool, I went with a cotton yarn.  The pattern made me think of the sun in the sky and so I thought, why not add an extra color: sun, sky, and grass.  Knitted with a hardy washable cotton it makes the perfect picnic blanket.

 

In the original blanket there are only two colors.  Personally I think this is totally awesome.  When I was talking about it to my husband the other night it occurred to me that this yarn is essentially what I would use to make washcloths, so this is really the most giant wash cloth ever.  I’m not sure if that’s for sure, but I’m calling it.  You find a bigger one, you let me know.  The diameter is somewhere between 4′ and 4.5′ .

I’m almost done with my Lore Hoodie.  I have been for weeks.  I need to buy toggles.  Meanwhile, I’m trying to pick a new project that I can do sort of fast, on the off chance I can finish before close of games on Sunday.  Probably I should get picking…

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. eaglecanyon / Aug 10 2012 5:08 pm

    The colors are great and I love how the stitches all stand out.

    • DrPurloknitz / Aug 10 2012 5:48 pm

      Thanks so much 🙂 I used Bernat Handicrafter cottons. The combination of giant skeins of yarn and making my blanket very cheap via the use of coupons at Joann’s made my life very happy. And of course there’s the added bonus of the yarn really showing off the pattern well!

Leave a Reply

