Skip to content
July 4, 2012 / Gillian

The Admiral’s Jacket

I swear I’m knitting.  Summer lends itself to slumping out on knitting, especially when it’s 90 degrees and humid.  (I know, there are hotter places.  Get over yourselves.  It’s all relative and 90 degrees feels hot to me.)

Still, with utmost effort (despite maximum procrastination), I have managed to get my Angelica’s Coat to the blocking stage.  Here is lies on my bedroom floor as we speak…

Image

Isn’t she a beaut?  That’s Cascade Ecological Wool in Coffee.  It is gorgeous and so much softer and squishier than you might expect 100% wool to be.  I’m a little bummed that I ordered too much of it because I could have spent that money on other stuff…but I’m sure I can figure out something to do with it.  Hey, I bet it’s totally enough to make a bangin’ teddy bear!  (Mental note, find teddy bear pattern!)

Anyway, I really enjoyed making this.  If I had worked on it exclusively I could probably have banged it out in way less than three months, but there you have it.  I have five inches or so to go on the belt and then obviously the finishing bits, but at this point it’s basically done.  I feel good about it.

I did make some adjustments, but the nice thing about this pattern is that it lends itself easily to adjustments.  There’s no shoulder shaping or…well really any shaping of the large piece.  The sleeves are clearly worked flat (not really my favorite way to do sleeves but, whatever).  The adjustments I made were in the back section.  I found that it was too broad for me so I just brought the back in by an equal number of stitches on each side after measuring my back.  No big deal at all.  You could easily make this shorter or longer than the pattern recommends.  I can’t wait for cold weather again.  This sweater is like a blanket-sweater-coat hybrid.

So what’s next?  Good question.  I want to find a project I can knock out in the next couple days so that I can finish all four of my BSG missions for the month, but after that I’m looking forward to the newly-named Ravellenic Games.  I’ve already planned to do Stephen West’s Old Forge circular afghan in cotton as a picnic blanket.  I’m very excited about that.  I’ll be using Bernat Handicraft Yarn that I saw at the Joann shop the other day.  I’d like to possible dye some wool for felting during the games as well and maybe do something in fingering weight yarn too.

Also, I’ve got some cool ideas for colorwork bags that I’d like to do.  I’m planning a yoga mat bag with Ganesh on it, inspired by MC Yogi’s song ‘Ganesh is Fresh‘.  Maybe I’ll get myself out of the slump after all.

Leave a Reply

