Skip to content
July 4, 2012 / Gillian

Give Me Agua!

As I have mentioned before, it is hot out and so water is on my mind.  In fact, when I get done here, I’m going to go stick my head in a cold shower.  It’s just that time of year.  In any case, I finished up the belt to my sweater-coat and now I’ve moved on to a new project that I hope to finish before this weekend is up.  After semi-extensive Ravelry searching, I found the Calais Shawl.   The original Calais Shawl is also blue and it just screamed at me.  Or rather, my Dream in Color Smooshy Lambikin’s Hideaway screamed at me to be turned into this shawl.

The pattern is simple and easily remembered.  After the first repeat I was able to totally zone out and go to town on it.  Here’s the thing itself at its inception a bit earlier this afternoon…

This is a piece I’m doing for my final BSG mission of the month, Homage.  The goal is to create something in homage to one of the characters on Battlestar Galactica.  This yarn made me think of the deep waters of the ocean, which in turn made me think of Picon, and that drew me to Sharon Valerii.  Sharon Valerii, of course, is the Picon native who turns out (pretty quickly) to be a secret Cylon plant.  I imagine that if she had lived the life of her dreams, she and the Chief might have gotten married at a breezy Picon beach wedding.  Maybe she could have worn this shawl while she took her vows.

…what can I say?  I’m a romantic.

Anywho..while I’m working on this I’m thinking excitedly about prospects for my yoga mat bag.  With that in mind, I’m going to go get started making dinner and listen to some MC Yogi for inspiration!

Leave a Reply

