Skip to content
June 23, 2012 / Gillian

Double-Knit Til Your Fingers Lock Up

I finished it.  It was a marathon.  It was twenty days.

This is my gorgeous double-knit bag.  Of course, that means it’s reversible.  So yes, it looks the opposite on the side that is currently in.  The thing almost broke my brain, but hey, the things we do for knitting.  It was a challenge to knit, this is certain, but I am utterly in love with the construction.  I cannot tell you how many times I find some beauteous pattern, something I’m passionately in love with from second one and then I actually read the pattern and want to throttle myself.  Or worse, I read the pattern and I think, “I can do this”, and then I get into it and it makes me insane.  Illogical construction is the bane of my existence.  Why oh why do we always want to make things more complicated than they need to be?

For this piece the construction was so elegantly…well I was going to say easy, which isn’t precisely true but, let’s stick with elegant.  There’s a provisional cast-on and it all grows upward from the bottom rectangle.  I should probably not get into it beyond that.  The pattern is on sale at Ravelry.  It’s called the Bile Bag.  By the pattern, make the bag.  Mine is a smidgen different than the pattern intends.  You’ll notice the green border around the tree pattern.  That isn’t supposed to be there.  I misunderstood the chart a bit, but I think it still turned out lovely.  And really, if you can misread the chart and still it comes out pretty then how is that not a win?

Again, this pattern is not for the faint of heart.  If you are new to double-knitting then go practice on some hotpads or something.  Seriously, it took me twenty days which is upwards of how long I take to finish a full-grown adult sweater.  Admittedly some of that time was spent avoiding it because the time-sucking slowness was making me crazy, but I’m not patient.  I’m a quick knitter and when things don’t feel like they’re progressing fast enough I begin lamenting and becoming a sad panda.  More often than not I end up pushing through to a sort of begrudging determination so as not to feel defeated, but still.

Slowness aside, I would knit this again for a friend or something.  I’d certainly make sure I had enough yarn.  For mine you may notice I had to use two colors of green.  Oh well, it served it’s purpose.  The purpose, primarily, being to get rid of that seemingly giant ball of green yarn.  Also it got rid of a giant ball of tan yarn.

Now I’m back to my viper training sweater.  It’s a beauty that I found in a magazine.  That, however, is another story for another day and it is past my bedtime.

Ta-ta!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Andres P. Nevarez (@Crafty_Andy) / Jun 24 2012 1:24 am

    Looks fantastic, great job!

Leave a Reply

