Skip to content
June 21, 2012 / Gillian

Screw You, USOC

If you’re a Raveler then you probably heard about this.  That would be the US Olympic Committee demanding that Ravelry change the name of the Ravelympics because…

“We believe using the name “Ravelympics” for a competition that involves an afghan marathon, scarf hockey and sweater triathlon, among others, tends to denigrate the true nature of the Olympic Games.  In a sense, it is disrespectful to our country’s finest athletes and fails to recognize or appreciate their hard work.”

You may then also have heard this.  That would be the totally patronizing “apology” where this happened…

“To show our support of the Ravelry community, we would welcome any handmade items that you would like to create to travel with, and motivate, our team at the 2012 Games.”

I’m not sure there’s a measurement or a word in English for exactly how unbelievably, ragingly, insanely angry this whole situation has made me, how utterly insulted I am.  As I have said here before, I learned to knit from my Grandmother in middle school.  It’s a skill that fell by the wayside for awhile.  When I started weaning my son, knitting saved my sanity.  I have devoted countless hours to knitting.  My fingers are like tiny little lightning bolts of speed.  They didn’t get like that by magic.  They got that way by hours of practice, training you might even call it.

I have used my skill to make hats and balaclavas for my little brother’s Marine unit.  Are you going to tell me that my contribution denigrates them?  The idea that the USOC gets to insult us and then give us a canned apology that claims the cease and desist letter was a “standard form letter” and then asks us for hand-knitted items as though all we wanted all along was to knit for them?!

Livid.  That’s a good word, but it’s not quite even there yet.

Leave a Reply

