Skip to content
October 5, 2011 / Gillian

Day 6: The Lag

I bought a day planner today because today I realized that I actually have enough events in my life that it might behoove me to have a way to keep track of them.  I’ve had day planners before, but I didn’t really use them because I didn’t have that many things to give a crap about.  Next week though, my son starts preschool.  He also takes tae kwon do twice a week and we have church and I have knitting group…

It’s like I’ve got things to do.  Weird.  Of course, that means that this is the perfect time for me to start getting actual about keeping up with my blog.  Today I got very little work done because I started reading The Help yesterday and I haven’t been able to put it down.  Now it’s down, because I finished it.  Fantastic book, by the way.  It made me almost cry four or five times, which is saying a lot.  When I was pregnant I was crying every other second, but in regular life I do it the old-fashioned Protestant way.  This is to say that I bottle up my feelings until either no one’s around or else a completely inappropriate moment and then I have a melt-down about it.  I’m not saying it’s healthy, but it’s how I roll.  Anyway, The Help was very emotional and thought provoking.  It certainly provides a perspective into both a time and a place that I know little about.

Oh, the book is about black maids and they white families they served in the South during the Civil Rights Movement.  Very interesting.

Anyway, so that’s what was occupying me yesterday and most of today.  So, I’m bouncing around some ideas in my head.  I’m thinking about “knitting for Christmas” and…I just had an idea while I was trying to write about knitting for Christmas…  My head is everywhere and nowhere right now.  I thought it was a really good idea too.  I should have written it down.  I’m beginning to think that I need one of those nifty belts that Batman has, except mine would have more mundane things like a pen and a pad and emergency chocolate rations and a tape measure.  Who am I kidding, I’d have to replace the ’emergency’ chocolate rations way too often.  I can’t be trusted to walk around with chocolate and save it for a rainy day.

Now I’m really angry that I can’t remember the thing I was going to write about.  Thinking about it will not help.  It will come back to me when it’s ready.

Damn, I thought for sure that would trick it out in the open and I could think it up again.  What was I thinking about?  Christmas knitting…people appreciating things…scarves…hats…sweaters…patterns…feelings…the warm fuzzies…avoiding talking about warm fuzzy feelings…  I was sitting right in this chair looking at this exact computer screen.  I was sitting up straight, just like I am right now.  It’s on the tip of my tongue and it was such a good one.  Maybe I was thinking about Alice again and that led me to something?

Nope, it’s lost.  I’ll tell you what though, if it comes back to me I promise I will write it down immediately.  Also, tomorrow I will be much better prepared.  Writing every day for 21 days will be, I think, even more difficult than exercising 21 days in a row.  Still, I’m a very stubborn person and the fact that I’ve even suggested implicitly that I might not be able to do this makes me that much more determined to accomplish it.

Leave a Reply

