Skip to content
July 10, 2011 / Gillian

I’m So Lazy…Here’s a Hacky Sack Pattern

How long has it been?  Centuries?  I don’t know why I started a blog, I’ve never been good at journals and whatnot.  Aside from next week between Wednesday and Sunday I vow that henceforth I will make a more concerted effort to write daily…maybe.  I offer, in return for my lackadaisical  attitude toward regular blogging, a pattern for a hacky sack.  Thursday I’m going to the All Good Music Festival.  It’s a hippie laden event, so I must bring hacky sacks for all my friends.

With this in mind I checked Ravelry for a hacky sack pattern.  After weeding out all the crochet patterns I came down to several patterns, none of which really fit what I wanted which was…

1. in the round

2. worsted weight yarn

Buh, I said to myself.  So I said frak it and worked it out on my own and this is what I came up with…

The Basic Worsted Weight Hacky Sack

What You’ll Need:

  • US size 5 circular (for magic loop) or dpns
  • any crappy worsted weight cotton yarn
  • beans, or if you want it to be more or less water-proof use plastic beads.  Personally I prefer and use either dry black or pinto beans.
Directions
  • CO 4 sts
  • joining to work in the round, kfb all four sts: 8 sts
  • k 1 round
  • kfb all sts: 16 sts
  • k 2 rounds
  • kfb all sts: 32 sts
  • k 12 rounds
  • k2tog all sts: 16 sts
  • k 2 rounds
  • Time out.  Turn the bag inside out and weave in the inside end a little, or if the original end is on the outside, weave it to the inside and use it to close up any gapping that may have occurred due to the kfb’s.
  • Turn the bag right side out again
  • Fill the bag with beans.  Fill it right to the top and make sure to pack it a little, they never seem to be packed in as tight as you think they’re going to be.
  • k2tog all sts: 8 sts
  • k 1 round
  • Cut yarn, pull tail through remaining stitches, weave in remaining end and cut tail
  • Go play!!
And there you have it.  You can do a solid color.  You can do some stripes.  Go crazy.
Here are my hacky sacks.  They’re fun and they’re super easy.  Even the slowest knitter can finish these easily in an afternoon, so get going!
9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Scarlett / May 18 2016 3:21 pm

    What does kfb mean?

  2. Joan / Oct 21 2015 11:40 am

    How do you get the zig zag effect? It doesn’t show in the instructions. Having trouble knitting in the
    round with my needles. Definitely need help as we are donating them to compromised children.
    Thanks

  3. Cara / Feb 22 2015 8:32 pm

    Thanks ever so much for this. A friend and I made a bunch for party gifts last year and this year I’m making groups of three “juggling balls” to give as prizes.

  4. Nate / Jan 19 2014 12:33 pm

    You need to learn you crochet abreaveations ch is chain. sc single crochet. st stich ext..

  5. spice / Oct 28 2012 1:22 am

    Thanks I used this to make a ball for my dog. She loves it.

  6. Julie / Nov 22 2011 11:18 am

    Thanks for this. They’ll make great stocking stuffers for my 3 grandkids this Christmas.
    🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Free Knitting Patterns in Time for Holiday Gift-Giving - One Crafty Place
  2. Free Knitting Patterns in Time for Christmas Gift-Giving - One Crafty Place
  3. 25 Gifts to Knit for a Child - One Crafty Place

Leave a Reply

