Skip to content
March 2, 2011 / Gillian

Crash and Burn: Shoulda, Woulda, Coulda

It doesn’t happen often, but this even I have officially crashed and burned.  I decided I’d make the Proposition gloves arm-warmers but then I got to the end and I just didn’t love it.  In fact, I hated it.  I passionately hated it.  It pissed me off almost uncontrollably as is evidenced by the fact that I am now taking time to write a third post today to express how much I hated them.

Here’s the best part, I can’t get the bloody thing undone because the yarn is Mini Mochi by Crystal Palace and it’s gorgeous and soft and delightful but it’s not a plied yarn so it felts to itself like wild.  A tip for you, if you make something with an unplied yarn you better be damn sure you’re making what you want or turn back the second you think it’s not working out because it is a bitch if not impossible to undo.  I won’t be undoing this tonight for certain.  I’ve marked it frogged on my Rav page.  Occasionally I’ll start a project and then get iffy on it and just delete it, but this I really did get into with the intent of finishing it and then it just all went wrong.

Part of the blame is on my printer which refused to print the pages out nicely, so I decided I’d hand copy out the directions which led to me misreading some things.  I had a feeling about it from the get-go.  As soon as I figured out I was going to have to decrease the cast-on stitches I should have taken a hard look at the pattern and re-thought it entirely.

Shoulda, woulda, coulda.

I was really in a groove too.  I was in a knitting groove and now my groove is gone.  I have audibly sighed.  That’s where this has all taken me.  Perhaps I’ll work on my Evenstar for the rest of the evening.  Maybe that will cheer me up.  My new Knit Picks yarn might come tomorrow.  That would definitely cheer me up.  I don’t want to talk about that project now though; we wouldn’t want to jinx it.

Leave a Reply

