Skip to content
February 26, 2011 / Gillian

On a Roll

The leg-warmers put me back in a mood to knit.  Over the last several days I have struggled (successfully) with the Pyroclastic sock pattern.  I just could not wrap my head around the necessity of the five markers for the foot, at one point I used four and then at some point it seemed to me to logically reduce to 2 necessary markers…but 5?  No.  The second sock turned out ever so slightly different than the first, but really the only reason you know that is because I’m telling you…and I can’t help but confess my missteps.  It’s a thing I do.  Any time someone compliments anything I do I feel compelled to point out where it might suck.  Stupid…but it’s a think, and I do it.  In any case, here are the socks!

 

I’m extremely pleased with how they turned out, plus they are super comfy thanks to some fantastic Light Brown Hare yarn.

Here’s a side view.  I’m happy I tried to stick with the intention of the pattern as far as the decreasing lace pattern on the instep and the arch support on the sole.  I didn’t take a picture of the arch support, maybe I’ll have my husband help me with that later if I think of it.

Anywho, it’s early in the morning and I’m procrastinating the actual doing of things.  I was thinking of what project to pursue next.  New missions (for the BSGFPB) aren’t up until Monday night at the earliest, but I don’t think I have time to do another project.  Probably I do, but I don’t think I feel like finding something I can finish in that time.  I think I’ll start making squares for a sock yarn blanket.  I’m really starting to build up enough leftover sock yarn that I could make a pretty awesome sock yarn blanket at some point, and the squares would give me something to do between projects.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Paula Jean Craw / Feb 27 2011 7:21 am

    Good Morning!

    I’m am going to the library at 10:00am tomorrow morning to help empty the case. I spoke with Shelly and she said the other items can be kept in her office. Please join me if you are available or just stop by the library to retrieve your belongings.

    Have a great day,
    Paula

    • DrPurloknitz / Feb 27 2011 8:05 am

      I’ll see if I can get down there, thanks for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

