Skip to content
February 17, 2011 / Gillian

Entrelac Accomplished

Recently, I re-tried my hand at entrelac since Knit Picks now has some awesome yarn for it.   I was thrilled the moment I saw their new Chroma line and I knew I had to have it for the express purpose of an entrelac scarf.  Here’s a close-up of my finished product blocking…

 

 

I’m really proud of it.  I first tried entrelac last year with a pretty crappy Red Heart variegated yarn.  For the record, there is no yarn I hate more than Red Heart Super Saver.  It is not super.  In any case, I didn’t like what I made and I felt like it didn’t look right.  This yarn made me really happy and I think made an awesome finished product.  I was less nervous about knitting this too.  The thing that made me really uneasy about entrelac is the constant picking up stitches.  Having picked up millions of stitches at this point, it’s something with which I’m quite comfortable.  Before, not so much.  I should show you a close up shot of me modeling…

 

Don’t you just love how the colors in the yarn change so gradually?   Honestly, as you’re knitting you barely realize it.  The transition is so smooth.  Do be aware though, this is not a plied yarn and so it’s very low twist and it does vary between being quick thick at some places to very thin at others.  On average though, the worsted weight really was mostly worsted.  I presume that the fingering weight variety of the Chroma yarn will be similar.  Still, it’s very soft and absolutely beautiful to look at and to touch.  It was love at first sight for me and even more love to snuggle!  I only wish I had a little more cold weather ahead of me to use it.  Or not…maybe don’t tell the weather I said that.

Leave a Reply

