Skip to content
February 16, 2011 / Gillian

On The Road Again

As promised, here’s a picture of my progress on the Evenstar Shawl…

 

It’s really coming along.  My only real concern at this point is yardage.  I did the gauge swatch to make sure my gauge was correct – or close enough – and it was fine.  Still, I’m not even through one ball of yarn (each of my skeins has 880 yds).  The complete shawl is supposed to take 1500 to 1600 yds.  I suppose if we assume 1500 after 880 that would only leave 620 and I’m not halfway through the third chart  yet.  I just hate having leftover laceweight because I never know what to do with it.  Maybe I can make some matching laceweight fingerless gloves to go with my shawl…hm…that’s a thought.

Another thing I’ve found with this shawl, I’m doing fine on 40 inch circulars, which is good.  I’m going to have to buy another set of size 3 circs for when I get to the beaded edging.  I also still need to purchase the beads.  Size 8 seed beads have proven impossible to find in craft stores.  I still have to try Joann’s, but I figure the odds are against me if I couldn’t find the right beads at Michael’s or A.C. Moore.

By the way, can I just talk for one second about how much I hate going to A.C. Moore?  My A.C. Moore, at least, is awful.  Pretty much every cashier that  has ever checked me out is soooooo slllloooooowwww.  The intelligence quotient doesn’t seem high either.  Also, and this kills me, I bring a reusable bag everywhere, but they never fail to put my stuff in plastic.  I’m not hiding the bag.  I sit it down on the counter in front of their face before I put down my merchandise to make sure that they notice.  Still, it’s like pulling teeth trying to get them to put my stuff in it.  On multiple occasions I’ve resorted to quickly bagging my own stuff while they’re – for whatever reason – taking eight hours to finish ringing me out.  No, I don’t want to go there, but sometimes they have really good sales and I need cheap yarn, so I only go there out of absolute necessity.  They actually have a better yarn selection than Michaels, I just like Michaels better.

In any case, I’ve received some suggestions for online bead stores and I’ve been checking them out.  More news on that as it happens.

Leave a Reply

