Skip to content
February 15, 2011 / Gillian

When Hormones Come Calling…

I am a crazy person.  It is, perhaps, a bit too much to share that I am nearing that special lady time of the month.  For the next few days I’m going to be an absolute lunatic.  Already everything my son does makes me want to throw him out a window, even stupid inconsequential things.

Most of the time I’m the peace keeper in our house.  Think, an actual keeper of peace, not a Peace Keeper a la Farscape.  I really do try to smooth out our existence.  For just a few days though, each month, I am a roaring lion.  I am fury incarnate.  It’s a difficult thing to keep a lid on.  Intellectually, I know that the things bothering me are small and silly and that normally I wouldn’t mind them.  Unfortunately, intellect has very little to do with what I do or say right at this moment.  Somewhere underneath a seething pot of rage is me.  I’m actually feeling quite good considering.  Today I put out my first for sale pattern.  Check it out on Ravelry if you’re a member.

Maybe I should have a snack?  My head is everywhere and nowhere right now.  For the last year I’ve been on this quest to lose weight.  It started off slowly and really took off after I got my WiiFit.  Over the last year I’ve lost 60 pounds.  At this moment I am wearing a pair of juniors size 9 cargo pants.  It doesn’t feel real.   Anyway, my secret is eating in moderation and exercising religiously.  The question is, do I make egg and refried bean burritos and salad for dinner as previously planned or do I go out for dinner?  On the one hand eating out basically anywhere is bad for you.  On the other hand I made chicken with fettucine al fredo last night for Valentine’s Day.  Fettucine al fredo is maybe my husband’s favorite dinner.  I’ve been putting it off for weeks because it’s basically butter and heavy cream.  Man it was delicious though…

I’m probably going to eat out tonight.   Although…egg and bean burritos does sound good too.  It’s a conundrum.  Tomorrow, I promise I’ll take a picture of my progress on the Evenstar Shawl.  It’s getting finished way faster than expected.

 

Leave a Reply

