Skip to content
January 12, 2011 / Gillian

Injury, Most Annoying

The night before last I sliced my finger on the grating/slicing attachment for my food processor.  That bitch is sharp.  The slice happened on the tip of my left thumb.  If you’re a continental knitter and you think about that for more than a second you will agree that it is maybe the most annoying injury you could suffer.  It’s not tragic or anything.  The thing isn’t keeping me from knitting, it’s just slowing down my progress.  A broken wrist or carpal tunnel syndrome would be a tragic.  This is…annoying.  The cut is really deep and there is just no way to really effectively band-aid it without the band-aid being totally in my way.  It can’t not be covered because if I squeeze my thumb from front to back the cut actually opens.  I’m sorry, that’s a little gross, but it’s what I’m dealing with right now.

Despite this annoyance, I have managed to finish my Icarus Shawl.  Check it out…

Icarus, completed

It turned out great.  The only minor thing that made me a little want to scream was that I absolutely had enough yarn to do the whole pattern without skipping any repeats, but based on what was said about the amount of yarn other people used to finish it I decided to skip one repeat.  In the end, it’s no big deal.  The shawl turned out great.  The size is fine, and really…it took less time to finish.  Nevertheless…there’s this ball of lace yarn with which I have no idea what I will do.  Again, small potatoes.

In the meantime, I’ve begun my second shot at Pea in a Pod.  The  yarn is a bit more subdued this time and I’ll be improvising the hat rather than leaning on the pattern I used previously.  Here’s the beginning of the hat…

Pea in a Pod: hat

I think it’s going to look nice.  This time there will be even more notes and I will absolutely get the pattern written out.  Incidentally, another friend has requested that I put out a full pattern for a hat I made based on a Liz Lemon slouchy beret from 30Rock.  The idea that I’ve designed things that people are interested in makes me feel weird.  I’m uncomfortable with being good at something.  Of course at this point it’s a little disingenuous for me to be modest about knitting generally, but designing seems like a new thing.

Leave a Reply

