Skip to content
January 7, 2011 / Gillian

I Teach Knitting?

Every Thursday is knitting night at the library.  When I started going to knitting night I was expecting to be small potatoes with my fingerless gloves and whatnot.  Well, I was wrong.  I am hands down the most experienced and well-versed knitter in our group.  This isn’t hubris; this is a fact.  Like Spiderman and power, with great knitting comes great responsibility.  So far I’ve taught four people to knit and last night we got five new people, two mothers and three little girls.  I have to say that I love that it’s apparently become chic for girls to knit again.  At least one of them is learning to get a Girl Scouts badge.

Here’s how I start.  I am a huge fan of the long-tail cast-on.  Personally, I didn’t learn it until about a year in, but I’m almost completely self-taught.  My grandma gave me the basics of knitting in middle school, but I didn’t really start knitting hardcore until about two years ago.  As I’ve mentioned previously, I started English and now am a Continental zealot.  Continental seriously saved my knitting.  English had me at the beginning of the road to repetitive stress injury and I just couldn’t knit more than ten minutes straight.  I love Continental because it saved my wrists.  I could knit all day now.

Anyway, I digress.  I start with long-tail cast-on.  Maybe one of these days I’ll do my own long-tail video.  In the meantime, if you want to learn long-tail cast-on, learn it the way I did on Knittinghelp.com.  I love that site.  It’s possible that the long-tail cast-on may be jumping in at the deep end, but I think if you’re going to do it then you might as well go for it.  And anyway, three of my five students picked it up pretty quickly last night.  One of the five had it pretty well down but was just having trouble getting started.  Of course she also just turned seven, so I think that’s okay.

Oh, I just got these in the mail…

Harmony Wood Straight Needles, Size US8

Aren’t they pretty!?  I’m going to use them to shamelessly seduce people into knitting.  How could you not?  So gorgeous.

What was I talking about?   Right.  Teaching.  I’m a beginner at teaching people to knit.  I’m still working out my strategy, but I think things are going well.  It makes me really happy that people want to learn how to knit.  I’m not sure if you can tell.  *wink wink*

In any case, I just got my Knit Picks order so I’ve got to go be giddy over that for awhile!

Leave a Reply

