Skip to content
December 24, 2010 / Gillian

All’s Well…

Yesterday was a busy day.  So was Wednesday.  After the fixing of my plumbing ordeal I spend Wednesday dyeing yarn and making truffles like a fiend.  The truffles were the last thing (besides a quick dinner) that I did.  Rolling the filling in the chocolate ended with a nauseating amount of back pain after which I planted myself firmly on the couch.  Thursday I spent the entire day (I’m not kidding the whole day.) untangling a very naughty skein of yarn.

Happily though, at the end of the day Thursday I got to take my freshly dyed yarns to my friend’s house and give them to their intended recipients.  Here are two of the yarns…

Rocky Horror Picture Yarn

Electric Garden

I’m in love with how they turned out.  The third – and naughtiest – yarn was Crashing Waves.  I had to actually finish untangling it and then skein it at my friend’s house, so I completely forgot to take a picture, but I have tasked her with taking a picture and sending it to me.  I hate not having a finished picture of the things I’ve made.  It’s infuriating.

Anyway, a good time was had.  Goodbyes were said since the friend whose house we were at is moving to Cincinnati.  I’m sad to be losing her, but like I told her we still have Facebook.

By way of taking my mind of that sadness I’m going to give you a few tips on yarn dyeing…

Yarn Dyeing Tips

  • Wear rubber gloves: This may seem like silly advice, but when you’re excited to try something new there’s a certain sort of person that really wants to dive in head first and that often leads to missing the little details.  Unless you want funny colored hands…wear gloves.  I keep a box of latex gloves under my kitchen sink.
  • Lay out a (or some) towels: Find some crappy towels and lay them out under your workspace.  It’s still likely you’ll get some dye on something, but keeping  your workspace covered is always a good idea however if you do get dye on your countertops…
  • Own Mr. Clean Magic Erasers: Or the generic kind.  They work just as well.  Magic Erasers get dye off counter tops with just a few swipes, it really is frakking magic.
  • Don’t forget the vinegar!: Vinegar gives your dye staying power.  It’s just like dyeing an Easter egg.  Always have a load of white vinegar on hand.  If not for dyeing, it’s a great all natural cleaner and deodorizer.

So those are my tips for the day.  I have one more skein to dye for the holiday season.  Maybe I’ll throw in a step-by-step tutorial when I do that one.  For now I’ve got to run to the grocery store so my cat is fed while I’m at the in-laws’.  Happy Holidays!

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Esa / Dec 29 2010 7:44 pm

    I love my yarn. I can’t figure out what to make with it though! I get an idea, then change my mind…it needs to be totally and uniquely epic… ❤

    • AbsolutKnitNut / Dec 29 2010 8:51 pm

      I have that problem with my hand-dyes sometimes. It can be hard to find the right project, but I’ve found that generally once you find the project that feels right, you’re guaranteed something epic 🙂

Leave a Reply

